FHA Board of Directors

The Fearrington Homeowners Association, known as the FHA, is a volunteer, non-profit homeowners association responsible for maintaining the common areas of Fearrington and looking after the interests of residents. The FHA Articles of Incorporation assign three tasks to the Board of Directors:

  1. Enforcement of covenants;
  2. Maintenance of common property; and
  3. Promotion of the health, safety and welfare of village residents.

The FHA has contracted with 'Towne Properties LLC' to assist in managing the FHA's responsibilities.

In addition, the FHA Board is dedicated to making Fearrington an involved community by fostering resident participation in a wide variety of activities and functions intended to enrich life in Fearrington. The FHA supports many groups within the Village and recruits volunteers to serve on projects connected to specific community needs including Monthly Newsletter, Block Contact Program, FHA Directory and Handbook, Adopt-a-Highway, Care of the mail kiosks, Pathways and Walkways, FHA Hospitality and Service Center, FHA web site, Emergency Preparedness, and Green Scene.

The FHA Board of Directors

Carl Angel
  • Oversees the proper discharge of the FHA Board's duties and responsibilities
  • Chairs Executive Committee, which provides oversight of the Management Company
  • Chairs Covenants Appeals Committee in association with Fitch Creations, Inc.
  • Convenes and presides over meetings of the Council of Presidents
  • Acts as FHA's liaison with Fitch Creations, Inc.
  • Presides over the FHA Annual and Open Meetings
  • Prepares the FHA Annual Report
Vice President
Rose Krasnow
  • Fills in for president in his or her absence
  • Serves on the Nominating Committee as a Board representative
  • Participates in the Executive Committee
  • Chairs the Long Range Planning Committee
  • Along with the President, serves as a liaison with Fitch Creations, Inc.
  • Serves as the Board’s representative at Chatham County Planning Board Meetings
Leslee Bennett Shell
  • Records minutes of all regular Board meetings and files them in the FHA office
  • Records and posts minutes of all Open Board meetings
  • Maintains Book of Resolutions
  • Participates in the Executive Committee
  • Coordinates elections with Nominating Committee
Neville A (Tony) Daniels
  • In conjunction with members of the Board of Directors, prepare annual operating budget and reserve budget (repair and replace program).
  • Monitors monthly financial income and expense transactions and balance sheet report, data provided by contractual agreement with the management company.
  • Interface with management company in the preparation and review of taxes and review/audit of financial records by an independent CPA firm.
  • Ensure that all excess funds are invested per board approved investment plan in a timely and prudent manner in accordance with risk, accessibility and return.
  • Interfaces with the management company in the procurement of contracts, vendor bids and pricing negotiation.
  • Financial records are available to FHA members. They are maintained in the management’s office at the Gathering Place and on our web site.
Director, Covenants
Eric P (Ric) Frank
  • Chairs FHA Covenants Concerns Committee, Joseph Kasprzak, member
  • Reviews all proposed modifications to house and property in Phases I-IV, the Woods, Bush Creek, and McDowell Place
  • Responds to residents' written concerns filed in the FHA Office regarding any neighbor's property perceived to be in violation
Director, Communications
Gordon Pitz
Coordinates volunteers who produce and maintain:
  • Website: Jim Brooking, Webmaster
    • Content: Jan Kowal
    • Village Calendar: Catherine Garland
    • Clubs and Organizations Directory: Don Niedringhaus
    • Residents Directory: Pat Skiver
    • Help Desk: Bob Maarschalkerweerd
  • Newsletter - Jan Kowal, Ann Melchior, Deborah Repplier, Jackie Walters: Co-Editors
    • Printing and Distribution – Newsletter Print Team
  • Directory & Handbook
Director, Community Affairs
Margaret (Maggie) Tunstall
Margaret (Maggie) Tunstall
  • Coordinates FHA sponsored events:
    • Annual Meeting
    • Various Community Meetings
    • Volunteer Appreciation Event
    • Easter Egg Hunt
    • Semi-annual Shredding Events
    • Newcomer Meet and Greet
  • Oversees:
    • Adopt-a-Highway
    • Area and Block Contacts
    • Hospitality Office Volunteers
    • Newcomer Packets
    • Vetting Groups Charter Applications
Director, Grounds and Landscaping
Jesse (Jess) Fearrington
  • Provide oversight of the mowing and maintenance of the Common Property that is owned by the FHA
  • Provide oversight for the management of the sediment ponds as well as the Beechmast Pond
  • Ensure that preventive and correcting measures are taken during snow and ice at the mail kiosks and The Gathering Place
  • Serve as liaison for The Trails Committee and The Green Scene with the FHA
Director, Infrastructure & Facilities
Mark A Haslam
  • Oversees care and maintenance of The Gathering Place, interior and exterior
  • Oversees reservations, rental fees for The Gathering Place
  • Oversees committees:
    1. Audio-Visual: Vacant
    2. Scheduling: Clairbeth Lehn
  • Supervises training and maintenance of audio-visual equipment for user groups
  • Supervises modification and maintenance of the security system
  • Supervises maintenance, repairs, and replacement for those mail kiosks that are the responsibility of FHA.
Director, Health, Safety and Security
Warren Ort
  • Maintains relationships with governmental safety, highway, and health agencies
    1. Chatham County Sheriff's Department (especially the Community Service officers)
    2. Chatham County Emergency Management Department
    3. North Chatham County Fire Department Station #1
    4. Chatham County Public Health Department
    5. Traffic Engineering Section of the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDoT - we have 54 state secondary roads)
  • Oversees emergency preparedness, village road safety, and Community Watch information, sometimes working with advisory committees
  • Oversees conditions of most roadways, and liaises with NC Department of Highways
Maarten Simon Thomas, Chair 919-542-0146
Barbara Benjamin 919-357-3500
Anthony J (Tony) Carroll 919-533-6523
Rose Krasnow 919-704-8027
Lorraine Rende Mellon 919-533-6215